Skip to content

I Don’t Normally Compliment McDonald’s

November 9, 2009

I listen to Pandora at my desk during the work day. At some point today, a song came on that I enjoyed. I told Pandora that I liked it, so more music from this band would play in the rotation. Upon clicking “I like this song,” the McDonald’s ad for the “Angus Third Pounders” along the right-side of the screen changed. It recognized I liked a song and prompted me to “beef” things up by adding more variety to the station I was listening to on Pandora.

Pandora_1

I don’t normally pay much attention to online advertising, but since this actually caught my eye, I decided to check it out. So I clicked “Try It Now” and Pandora provided me with a handful of other bands to sample that resembled the music I currently playing.

Pandora_2

Granted that’s how Pandora works – it finds music with similarities to your selections and introduces you to new songs and artists. But for once I appreciated that an online advertiser enhanced my experience without being too intrusive, rather than trying to distract me and adding no value.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:13 am

    I had not explored Pandora yet- thanks for the post! I have a feeling Pandora is going to be a new friend;) Being a Veggie, hopefully the angus burger doesn’t pop up on my screen…..yikes.

Leave a Reply

